Latest News

Welcome to Missouri River Natural Resources Committee


The Missouri River Natural Resource Committe (MRNRC), made up of representatives from the seven state natural resource departments along the Missouri River (Missouri, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota, and Montana) was established in 1988 to promote and ensure good stewardship of the Missouri River and its associated floodplain. The constitution of the MRNRC challenges the Committe to seek a systems approach to managing the natural and recreational resources of the Missouri River and its floodplain, and to provide coordinated recommendations to appropriate agencies.


"Floodplains are among the planet’s most threatened ecosystems, even though functioning floodplains—those connected to rivers—are among the most valuable ecosystems for supporting biodiversity and providing goods and services to society." R. Costanza et al., Nature 387, 253 (1997)